A box set collection of eight BBC Radio full–cast dramatizations of Raymond Chandler’s classic novels featuring private investigator Philip Marlowe, including The Big Sleep, The Lady in the Lake, Farewell my Lovely, Playback, The Long Goodbye, The High Window, The Little Sister, and Poodle Springs. The series stars Toby Stephens and features a full cast, plus sound effects and specially-composed music

Toby Stephens as Philip Marlowe
1. The Big Sleep (5 February 2011)
Marlowe’s entanglement with the Sternwood family – respectable sister with gambling addiction, younger sister with drink/drug problem and an attendant cast of colourful underworld figures.

2. The Lady in the Lake (12 February 2011)
Derace Kingsley, a wealthy businessman, hires Marlowe to find his estranged wife Crystal. Kingsley fears that rich, reckless Crystal may have got herself into a scandal and the last place she was known to have been was a resort called Little Fawn Lake.

3. Farewell My Lovely (19 February 2011)
When Philip Marlowe sees a huge, loudly dressed man casually throwing a bouncer out onto the the pavement as he goes into a bar, he knows it’s time to walk away, so he follows him inside. The big guy is Moose Molloy, recently released from an eight year prison sentence and now on the hunt for his old sweetheart, a red-haired nightclub singer named Velma Valento.

4. Playback (26 February 2011)
Marlowe is hired to tail the mysterious Betty Mayfield all the way to the seaside town of Esmerelda, without knowing why or the identity of his employer. It’s not long before he realises that he’s not the only one on the trail, and that he too is being watched.

5. The Long Goodbye (1 October 2011)
Outside a club on Sunset Boulevard Marlowe meets a drunk named Terry Lennox, a man with scars on one side of his face. They forge an uneasy friendship but everything changes when Lennox shows up late one night, asking for a favour.

6. The High Window (8 October 2011)
When rare gold coin is stolen from her collection, Mrs Murdoch hires private eye Philip Marlowe to find it. The tough matriarch is convinced about the identity of the thief, but Marlowe’s own enquiries lead him elsewhere. He’s soon caught in the crossfire of a family at war with itself.

7. The Little Sister (15 October 2011)
A small, neat girl walks into Philip Marlowe’s office. Orfamay Quest is looking for her brother Orrin. She gives Marlowe twenty dollars and lots of moral disapproval. Marlowe takes the case and finds himself drawn into the glamorous world of the Hollywood film studios.

8. Poodle Springs (22 October 2011)
Fresh from his honeymoon with heiress Linda Loring, Philip Marlowe has set up shop in the upmarket Californian town of Poodle Springs. But the life of a kept man soon loses its charm, and when he’s asked to find a gambler on the run from his debts, Marlowe can’t resist.

Purchase here